The People of CrossFit®: My Untold Story #24

December 12, 2018

Photocredit: Crossfit Feel Good

NAME: JAKE JACKSON
AGE: 32
BOX: CROSSFIT ANNANDALE

Tell us a little bit about yourself (family, job, hobbies, interests, etc.).

I'm a father of a three-year-old boy, and I've been married to my lovely wife for 5 years. I am a police officer and I've been crossfitting since 2007. In my free time, I enjoy competition shooting, reading, and riding my motorcycle. 

When did you start doing CrossFit?

2007

How did you hear about CrossFit and what was your first workout?

The movie 300. Tabata Something Else

What were you doing before CrossFit?

Bodybuilding

How has your approach to CrossFit changed since first starting?

I've stopped seeing the difference in training styles and realized that training is training. Each method works for it's intended purpose

Favorite WOD or movement / Least favorite?

Back Squat. Turkish Getup

What types of changes have you seen (mentally, physically, and/or lifestyle) since starting CrossFit?

I would not be able to do my job without it. Being physically fit is a must as a police officer.

What helps you get the most out of your CrossFit Workouts? 

Knowing my goals can only be accomplished after finishing this WOD.

What would you say to someone starting CrossFit for the first time?

The hardest part of CrossFit is walking into the gym on day 1. Period.

Something you might not know about me: 

I own a website Tier Three Tactical where I write about CrossFit, equipment, and tactical training.

Thanks for reading my untold story,
Jake