The People of CrossFit®: My Untold Story #26

December 25, 2018

Photocredit: Saaty Photography

NAME: TIM FLANAGAN
AGE: 34
BOX: CROSSFIT CHIANG MAI

Tell us a little bit about yourself (family, job, hobbies, interests, etc.).

I'm the head coach at CrossFit® Chiang Mai in Chiang Mai, Thailand where I live with my wife and our dog, Nazca. I've been doing CrossFit® for nearly 8 years. I'm also a nerd that loves video games, science fiction and fantasy books, and computers.

When did you start doing CrossFit®?

March 2011

How did you hear about CrossFit® and what was your first workout?

Through a personal trainer who was also the CrossFit® coach at my gym in Nashville. No idea what my first workout was!

What were you doing before CrossFit®?

Not much physically other than my work.

How has your approach to CrossFit® changed since first starting?

It hasn't significantly, I'm just smarter about working on my weaknesses now.

Favorite WOD or movement / Least favorite?

Favorite WODs are Helen and Nutts. Least favorites are Kalsu and 14.5

What types of changes have you seen (mentally, physically, and/or lifestyle) since starting CrossFit®?

I eat healthier. I'm more confident. I'm just generally happier.

What helps you get the most out of your CrossFit® Workouts? What motivates/inspires you?

I just tell myself to give my best effort for that individual day. It may not be as good as the day before or after, but every workout is an opportunity to walk away feeling accomplished.

What would you say to someone starting CrossFit® for the first time?

Get your nutrition in line immediately.

Something you might not know about me: 

I have a degree in Criminal Justice. A lot of good that did me :)

 

Thanks for reading my untold story,
Tim